32 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
15.6 K Views
Lloyd
(@lloyd)
Prominent Member Registered
Topic starter

Well, a new venture for me, I've never worked on one of these before!

I've been shopping again... Bought this rather nice record player, it was in the antiques / junk shop in Sutton on sea, with a price tag of £45, and for some odd reason, I thought it'd be interesting to have a go at! A bit of haggling later, and the added purchase of an old clock with it, and it was on it's way home with me. It even came with something to play on it, a copy of 'The Highwaymen, Michael'. Not that it'll be playing it any time soon, first problem it has is a well busted stylus, and a snapped in half cartridge.

I've had it running already, the deck seems to function normally, although it slows down when it tries to do it's auto stop / next record thing, the idler looks and feels to be in good condition. The amp doesn't seem to be too healthy, not much noise is produced, although the broken cartridge might have a fair bit to do with that, even though I did manage to push the 2 halves back together! It uses a Sonotone 8T4A, which I probably won't be replacing like for like (have you seen the prices of those?!)

Cosmetically, it's pretty good, there are a few marks to the rexine, looks like the mains cable was wrapped around it at some point and it's left a mark. The most worrying thing is the few woodworm holes I've seen, so it's going to be soaked in worm-killer when I get back home. The turntable mat is beginning to go gooey, so I'm planning on making a silicone rubber mould from it before it goes out of shape, and then I can cast a new one from something. I did think I'd lost the Bush logo from the front, but found it rattling around inside the bottom of the case.

I think that's all I can say about it now until I get it back to the workshop for a more thorough investigation!

Regards,

Lloyd

IMG_4844.jpgIMG_4845.jpgIMG_4846.jpgIMG_4847.jpgIMG_4848.jpg

Posted : 14/08/2017 9:44 pm