Featured
Latest
Black and White TV ...

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Forum 141

B&W TV Black and White TV won't power on.

10 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
willj94
(@willj94)
Topic starter

Hi all, wonder if anyone can help. I'm relatively new to collecting Televisions, and have bought myself a Thorn Ultra Model - 6845 set but when plugged in it does not usually work, and very occasionally it will power up for a split second and then the screen will go blank but it still hums

Any advice would be appreciated.

Kind regards,

Will.

Posted : 28/01/2022 9:24 pm
crustytv
(@crustytv)
Vrat Founder Admin

Hi Will, and welcome to VRAT.

Before the guys pitch in and try to assist you, it would be very helpful for us to know your level of experience, and what equipment you have to aid fault-finding. You state I'm relatively new to collecting Televisions”, would this mean you might have experience on vintage radios or perhaps not  those either?

It's important for us to know, so advice can be pitched accordingly, therefore a few questions. By the way, there's no magic answer that will miraculously get your TV going.

1. Have you any experience of vintage electronics or electronics in general? For example, do you understand resistors, caps, diodes, transistors etc, their function, and how to test them?
  2. Can you read and understand circuit diagrams? This for example.
    pwr1690
  3. Do you have a multimeter & know how to use it for taking resistance and voltage readings? Much can be ascertained using cold checks (TV powered off) rather than hot, (TV powered on) and it's much safer for you doing 'cold-checks', if you're a novice.
  4. Do you have a soldering iron?

Best to start fault-finding at the power-supply and the associated rails, before diving in too deep.

By the way, your Ultra uses a Thorn 1690 TV chassis and dates from 1977/1978. I have the service data for the set and will scan that in due course.