Featured
Latest
EHT voltmeters for ...

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Forum 141

B&W TV EHT voltmeters for black and white TV sets.

10 Posts
8 Users
3 Likes
Till Eulenspiegel
(@till)
Famed Member Registered
Topic starter

From the 1963 Quarington Radio and Television circuits and data book a circuit of a simple EHT voltmeter.
No indication of the polarity of the terminals but we can assume the base drive for the OC71 will be negative.

EHT Voltmeter

From the June 1957 Practical Television magazine an article about making a kilovolt-voltmeter.
https://www.worldradiohistory.com/UK...on-1957-06.pdf

EHT Voltmeter PT June 1957

I suggest these crude instruments must not be used to test mains derived EHT systems.

Till Eulenspiegel.

Posted : 27/02/2024 3:06 pm
Nuvistor and ntscuser reacted
irob2345
(@irob2345)
Honorable Member Registered

Funny thing, I have been working on TVs on and off for 60 years and I have never had occasion to use an EHT voltmeter or probe.

Posted : 28/02/2024 6:55 am
Nuvistor
(@nuvistor)
Famed Member Registered

@irob2345 I had a EHT probe made for the AVO 8 meter, didn’t use it for mono sets but required for early colour sets that needed the GY501/PD500 rectifier/shunt stabiliser set up. Turn brightness down to cutoff CRT set EHT 25Kv and the current through the PD500 to 1.2ma, check EHT still 25Kv. Probably not quite the correct sequence, it’s a long time ago.

Radar made a commercial Kilovolter in the 1950’s, I didn’t have one.

Frank

Posted : 28/02/2024 8:11 am
Cathovisor
(@cathovisor)
Famed Member Registered

Posted by: @irob2345

Funny thing, I have been working on TVs on and off for 60 years and I have never had occasion to use an EHT voltmeter or probe.

Strangely, I had lots of occasion to use them when working on professional monitors. Often part of the post-repair procedure.

Posted : 28/02/2024 8:32 am
Nuvistor
(@nuvistor)
Famed Member Registered