How do you store your spare CRT's...?

10 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
Alastair
(@alastair)
Reputable Member Registered
Topic starter

Ive only the one spare tube, 22" Ive left it in the cabinet it came in at the moment...

Wondering what other guys do, How do you store yours?

Posted : 21/02/2013 5:33 pm
malcscott
(@malcscott)
Prominent Member Registered

I have a few stored in the loft.

Posted : 21/02/2013 5:44 pm
TVJON74
(@tvjon74)
Honorable Member Registered

Hi Alastair,

Half of my spare tubes are in original boxes, the ones that don't have boxes are stored face down on protective padding.
I'm not sure if this is the correct thing to do or not.

Best regards
Jon

Jon
BVWS Member

Posted : 21/02/2013 5:45 pm
valvekits
(@valvekits)

Mine is in the loft but I suspect that is probably the worse place to keep it for temperature variations.
When I was an apprentice we had an implosion in the used crt store which caused a couple of crt's around it to be taken out. Management reaction was predictable after that and I got the job of making the crt's safe by knocking the the pips off.

Eddie

Posted : 21/02/2013 5:52 pm
Anonymous
(@anonymous)
Group Deactivated Account

I have seen this done on You Tube as there is a nipple at the end you twist off with pliers and this lets the vacuum out, You can also swipe the necks of but the first method is better, however I have seen kids smashing TVs up with a brick which is not a good idea. I was talking to David the other day and this subject came up and those early round CRTs are made of thinner glass and can be broken very easy as the neck is the weak point, I have heard they can shower glass everywhere even though they implode, something to handle with care.