Featured
Latest
I found the same mo...

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Forum 141

B&W TV I found the same model TV I grew up with!

12 Posts
4 Users
7 Reactions
irob2345
(@irob2345)
Honorable Member Registered
Topic starter

A fellow collector found this in Albury NSW. in amazing condition:

Hjmn0755

Despite working for over 10 years as a TV service tech I have never seen another example of the TV we had when I was a kid in the 60s. My sister and I watched the Beatles get off the plane in Sydney in 1964 on this TV.

Only ours was walnut, this one is Qld. Maple. Another difference is this one has the earlier T18 chassis, ours had the somewhat rare first flip-down chassis, the T20 that preceded the very long running T21 that was used in the Pye Pedigree. Apart from the timber colour then, it looks identical.

Got it home, pulled the back off (it was nailed on!!) and found it had a newish CRT (that tested 75%)

Img 0426
CRT Label

and it had been partially re-capped. Just as well, T18s were full of wax paper caps. The (absolutely necessary) vertical mod looked like it had been done at the factory.

Still had a couple of papers around the line transformer so I replaced them to give the tranny a better chance of working. This is it with the covers removed to get at the caps which are behind the transformer.

Img 0431

This Line transformer was the early type. I have never seen one of these actually working! The same transformer in our T20 failed inside the 3 months warranty period.

Back in the day they were one of the few line transformers we'd carry as van stock and it wasn't unusual to replace a couple a week. The new ones were much better, they simply did not fail.

So, after replacing a couple of high resistors in the G2, vertical and beam limiter circuits, we have a raster!

Img 0424

So I measured the line transformer winding temperature and let it run for a while.

Temp 19

After 15 minutes, uh-oh:

Img 0434
temp 40

So where to from here?