Notifications
Clear all

"Like peeing in a wetsuit" design

irob2345
(@irob2345)
Reputable V-Ratter Registered

In case you hadn't heard the term the follow-on is "It gives you a warm feeling but nobody notices".

As a design engineer I've always had an interest in why certain design features were added when no-one can tell the difference. Sometimes I suspect it's to support a marketing claim.

Like this example from Philips Australia in the early to mid 60s that modulated the focus voltage so that you could have good focus at the sides as well as the centre of the picture..

Now with a 23 inch CRT you'd have to be within a metre or so of the screen to see the difference, and then only if it was pointed out to you.

T301 performs the magic, deriving the signal from across the B+boost cap.

I think the TVs that had this circuit also sported a "Power Focus" badge. Maybe they also had stickers on the screen that encouraged showroom visitors to compare the difference?

Anyway, has anyone ever seen this on other designs?

I have a few more examples if anyone is interested in this train of thought. Like the modulated horizontal S correction used on the first (110 degree delta gun) Krieslers. You could only tell the difference by carefully examining a test pattern, again knowing what you were looking for! Yes, all the crosshatch lines were indeed ruler straight and evenly spaced, all over the screen!

ReplyQuote
Topic starter Posted : 25/07/2020 5:11 am
irob2345
(@irob2345)

Here's the circuit, I hope. Got blocked by Wordfence from attaching it to the edit (it's only 157k)

Power Focus

ReplyQuote
Topic starter Posted : 25/07/2020 5:22 am
Nuvistor
(@nuvistor)
Famed V-Ratter Registered

I can’t remember if TV’s I worked on altered the focus with the scan, but expensive colour displays did use this technique. They also had CRT’s with finer shadow masks, or so I was told. These were expensive monitors for special use, not the usual desktop computer monitor.