Notifications
Clear all

Tale of rags to riches of for a Bush TV161

BRC 3000
(@brc_3000)
Busy V-Ratter Registered

I published this write up on my facebook group and thought that you folks here might enjoy it too. The story here regards only the electronic work carried out. The cabinet also required extensive work to preserve it and make it presentable again. I'm no expert with cabinet re-work but im pretty pleased with the outcome. ive included before and after pictures.
sorry, its a bit of a long-winded tale but hopefully not too dull!

Given the poor woodworm eaten state of the cabinet on this Poor old Bush TV161U and the poor storage conditions the set had endured over the last 30 plus years I was very close to breaking it up for parts. However, this model uses the very well regarded A640 chassis which was probably the high point of Bush monochrome television design. Not many survive these days and I had not seen one for over 30 years so was curious to see just how good they were. The design featured DC-coupled video signal with a clever but simple black level restoration circuit. I am told this arrangement gave probably the best monochrome picture of any production TV set.
The Achilles heel in this chassis along with many other Bush models of this period is line output transformer ( LOPTX ) failure. This is especially so with sets that have been stored in a damp environment for a long period allowing the transformer windings to absorb and trap moisture. As this set had suffered poor storage in a garage it was a big concern as to whether the transformer in this example would be viable.

An additional concern with the restoration of any old TV set is the condition of the Cathode ray tube ( CRT). This set uses a Mullard manufactured tube which generally last well. My CRT tester proved that this one bucked the trend with only mediocre emission, with the needle resting well into the red highlighted bad zone on the meter.