Share:
Notifications
Clear all

[Closed] Bought an old PYE TV, absolute beginner  

Page 2 / 2

RichardFromMarple
(@richardfrommarple)
Trusted V-Ratter Registered

My Sony VCR originally picked up some channel IDs when I first tuned it.

Unfortunately since the analogue switch-off I've managed to accidentally lose a couple of these & there seems to be no way of programming them manually.

My Sister's combined TV/VCR had channel IDs that could be manually entered, she was a little amused when I entered GRAN for ITV, as it only allowed 4 characters.

Posted : 01/11/2020 10:57 pm
Jayceebee
(@jayceebee)
Noble V-Ratter Registered

Some sets used info from the Teletext header data to automatically program the channel ID. Later, customers could manually enter channel label info themselves. Any sets from customers who terminated their rental contracts and were refurbished for re-hire had to have each program locations 1-99 inspected for any rude words 😱

John.

Posted : 01/11/2020 11:40 pm
Katie Bush and Doz liked
EmleyMoor
(@emleymoor)
Trusted V-Ratter Registered

I'm wondering how the channel indicator on 1980/81 Finlandias worked... each had a "shows this when not tuned" but it seemed to change with the actual tuned channel.

"Yes, a bit of wet string may get you a good TV signal here on four channels, but you'll have to dry it out to get Channel 5!"

Posted : 06/11/2020 1:11 am
Katie Bush
(@katie-bush)
Famed V-Ratter Moderator
Posted by: @jayceebee

. Any sets from customers who terminated their rental contracts and were refurbished for re-hire had to have each program locations 1-99 inspected for any rude words

I remember something like that, but it was a set that would appear to have been got at by a bored child with way too much time on their hands. I was a Sony Hi-Black Trinitron of around 1993 vintage, and although it didn't make much sense at first glance of the top two or three entries, if you scrolled down the list, it read something like this;

MY

DAD

SAYS