Bush/Rank - Toshiba T24 chassis??

11 Posts
6 Users
1 Likes
Jamie
(@jskinner97)
Prominent Member Registered
Topic starter

Hi all, I’ve been using my trusty Bush/Rank tv now for nearly 10 years every single day! With only one breakdown it’s been fabulous, which is surprising as it’s inherently very basic with respect to component count. I believe it uses the Toshiba T24 chassis, although there are some variations. 

Anyhow, it’s been working fine for years using a VCR as an RF Modulator for my freeview box, recently I upgraded to Virgin Media and as with most things these days I require HDMI. I bought a HDMI to scart converter which works very well, it downscales to NTSC or PAL. However sadly this TV only produced a black and white picture with it!!

I’ve  tried a  different RF Mod, RF Channel, HDMI Source, SCART Lead etc and it still produces the same problem.

However, it works fine on my similarly aged 1981 Pye (Philips) KT3. 

I noticed tuning the Bush out slightly produces the colour, so the problem must lie with the Bush TV! I’ve also tried AFC and it makes no difference.

289F997C 7FFE 4AF6 B6DC 98AF84026FAB

Can anyone shed any light? Preferably RGB light lol, cheers. 

Posted : 02/06/2019 7:27 am
Nuvistor
(@nuvistor)
Famed Member Registered

Presume it still works with the free view box and VCR correctly.

If the old system works ok it suggests the HDMI converter is  outputting a signal that is not true specification, the Philips handles it ok but the Bush must be more strict or the Bush is on the edge of working conditions and the two don’t mix.

If you have a scope it would be worth checking the chroma signal after the video detector to see if you can determine what is occurring.

The T24 will probably have a way of overriding the colour killer, see what the picture is like with that overridden.

Frank

Posted : 02/06/2019 8:51 am
PYE625
(@pye625)
Famed Member Registered

Hard to say for certain if your RBM is actually faulty Jamie....