HDMI to Scart

17 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
Panrock
(@panrock)
Reputable Member Registered
Topic starter

Not sure if this is in the right section - but here goes....

I know little about HDMI, how it works, what its connections are, etc. beyond knowing it's a digital interface that's got 'something to do with' HDTV. I have no experience of HDTV and don't have an HDTV setup here.

As you may have seen elsewhere, I shall soon be selling a reconditioned Retrovisor. These sets are now nearly twenty years old and most only accept an analogue signal modulated onto a UHF Carrier.

I want to make it as easy as possible for a non-technical viewer to use it with modern signal sources. Therefore I shall be selling it with a Maplin Scart-to-UHF modulator.

So far so good. But will the Scart plug into the majority of modern sources, which may include HDTV capability, or will an HDMI-to-Scart adapter of some sort be involved?

Yours in ignorance. :ccg Thanks for any advice.

Steve

Posted : 05/03/2014 11:28 am
crustytv
(@crustytv)
Vrat Founder Admin

As you surmised its not easy as SCART is an analogue, HDMI is a digital so they cannot be connected directly together. You will need a Scart to HDMI Upscaler http://www.amazon.co.uk/Scart-HDMI-1080 ... 22&sr=8-12

There's a lot of fake junk out there so beware

CrustyTV Television Shop: Take a virtual tour
Crusty's TV/VCR Collection: View my collection
Crustys Youtube Channel: My stuff
Crusty's 70s Lounge: Take a peek

Posted : 05/03/2014 11:34 am
Panrock
(@panrock)
Topic starter

Thanks Chris, but shouldn't it be the other way round? Wouldn't I need an HDMI-to-Scart downscaler to drive the Retrovisor?

Perhaps modern units still have Scarts anyway - so no problem?

Posted : 05/03/2014 11:42 am
crustytv
(@crustytv)
Vrat Founder Admin

Yes quite correct, my head was still thinking about when I had to connect a Scart device to my HD only Projector.

CrustyTV Television Shop: Take a virtual tour