5 Posts
4 Users
3 Likes
19Seventie
(@19seventie)
Estimable Member Registered
Topic starter

Hi all

I've been restoring a G8 on and off for the past 3 years and had a LOPT failure, and a second scare in that time frame which got me wondering - how easy would it be to modify the set to accommodate for a more reliable LOPT, say for example the Thorn jelly pots? 

It's totally theoretical of course at the moment, but I was just wondering if it could be done at all, maybe not with a jelly pot but any other LOPT. Has anyone attempted it before or even just put thought into it?

It just made me think as I'm sure in the future we'll run out of G8 LOPT spares and the only routes would be rewinding existing LOPTs and/or modification to allow for other LOPTs. 

Would be interesting to hear others thoughts on it

Thanks
'70

Posted : 02/06/2022 3:35 pm
WayneD
(@wayned)
Honorable Member Registered

Is there a way to tap into the line output before it gets to the winding on the LOPT? If so, then the microwave oven diode tripler I did on my Rediffusion Guildford could work. I tapped into the cap of the PL504 line output valve which gives out 7kV so it was just a matter of constructing a tripler to give 19kV (allowing for voltage drop of the diodes).

Original set-up:

original EHT

Modified:

MODIFIED EHT

You'd have to add additional diodes and capacitors in order to match the requirements of the G8.

Posted : 02/06/2022 7:51 pm
crustytv
(@crustytv)
Vrat Founder Admin

I navigated a similar path, with the G8's predecessor, namely the G6. My G6 came without a LOPT, I managed to track down a spare, which was likely a pull from a scrapped set. That LOPT ultimately ended up failing. Next I tried a PYE 697 LOPT, not only that but the superb and robust Weyrad version.

697 LOPT Sub