Cap Re-former

22 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
Anonymous
(@anonymous)
Group Deactivated Account
Topic starter

Current limited PSU or a suitable resistor and suitable DC voltage.

Posted : 11/08/2013 1:22 am
Anonymous
(@anonymous)
Topic starter

This is one I made for my own use, I am not an expert with circuit design and others may be able to advise on improvements.
I added the zener diode to limit the voltage across the meter and its series resistor to about 5v.
I also added an on off switch by using the other pole of the discharge switch. Not shown in photo.

When the current drops to below 1 mA I find the capacitor is probably ready for use. I normally check it by doing a discharge test as well.

Mike

Posted : 11/08/2013 1:03 pm
Anonymous
(@anonymous)
Topic starter

Yes, looks good.

I happen to have some shaver transformers I got at €4 each and a spare new 1mA meter.

Posted : 11/08/2013 1:48 pm
Refugee
(@refugee)
Noble Member Registered

I just fit a resistor to the preamp power supply on a valve amplifier and it provides entertainment while the capacitor is reforming. An AVO 9 provides the metering as it does not waste batteries on these sort of long monitoring jobs.

Posted : 11/08/2013 3:27 pm
BluePilot
(@bluepilot)
Reputable Member Registered

It's also useful to have some means of regulating the output voltage. At the start, a large current might flow. If the cap reforms slowly it will heat up which is not good. In practice I just run mine from a variac and slowly increase the input voltage, keeping the reforming current under say 10mA.

"The golden age is always yesterday", Asa Briggs.

Posted : 12/08/2013 9:13 am
crustytv
(@crustytv)
Vrat Founder Admin

Hi Andy,

As a relatively newcomer to the cap reforming brigade, I've spent considerable time reading many posts elsewhere on the subject, digesting the many views and arguments that surround this subject.