Remove that knob

7 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
6.3volts
(@6-3volts)
Reputable Member Registered
Topic starter

This is probably on page one of the beginner's manual but I just worked out how to loosen rusted grubscrews from bakelite knobs.

I was trying to remove a very rare knob recently and even with a two day soak in oil the slot in the screw was threatening to twist off in the hole.

In my other life as an engineer I often use heat to break the hold of rust so I left a hot soldering iron in gravity contact with the screw for about 45 mins. When it had cooled down I was amazed just how easily it unscrewed and left an undamaged thread in the knob. Hope this is helpful

Jonathan

Posted : 09/09/2017 10:17 am
PYE625
(@pye625)
Famed Member Registered

Another good tip there, I guess the combination of WD40 and use of heat to expand and then allow to cool to contract the stuck items is usually useful in freeing up. Nothing worse than having to drill out a grub screw.

To understand the black art of electronics is to understand witchcraft. Andrew.

Posted : 09/09/2017 1:11 pm
occiput
(@occiput)
Estimable Member Registered

It is a useful method, but be aware that it can sometimes result in the moulding in the knob shattering as the grub screw expands.  I regard it as an "if all else fails..." method and, to be fair, the OP does seem to have tried the most usual "kind" way.

I have also had some success with gently warming the knob rather than the grub screw, using a hot air gun.  The key word here is "gently", and you need to be sure that the knob really is bakelite.  It's a good idea to make a shield to fit behind the knob, so that the heat doesn't get at the cabinet.  Whatever you do, don't try this with a thermoplastic knob, or it will all end in tears.

Posted : 09/09/2017 2:04 pm
sideband
(@sideband)
Famed Member Moderator

For those who have never tried this, it's a good tip so thanks for posting it here.