Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Yet another Mullard HSVT restore...

Toibs
(@toibs)
New V-Ratter Registered

Spurred on by @Crustytv 's Thread from a good few years ago (2012!), have dug out a Mullard HSVT Mk4 in the hope that i can get it functioning alongside my Taylor 45D - therefore allowing a quick Go/No-go test on a couple of boxes of valves i have kicking about...

Hopefully i can gain a bunch of knowledge from you guys here who are FAR more knowledgable on these than i am... I'm a engineer that was trained on post-valve tech, and not dark arts as Valves - something i would love to (and am slowly) learning more about.

So - a bit of history. This has sat, unloved and uncared for in the corner of my workshop for a couple of years, after picking up a couple of years ago from a guy in Devon. Full (as full as you can get) set of cards... including the all important Mains/Reject/HT cards.

Thought i should bring this up properly and slowly since im unaware as when it was last used... so used my Variac to wind up to 1/4, 1/2 and then full value over the course of a few hours. Stuck the mains card in and pulled the "Bandit Handle"... and... nothing.

Guessed that i should really be doing this properly and replacing at the very minimum all the electrolitics as they have a life span of 25 years, and after all... the machine is at least 50 years old.

Caps replaced and finally changing the two large 4uf elects, decided to give it a fire up again... and i get a Dot!!! it was about 5mm too far south, and therefore i tried to tweak using the mains adjust and the x adjust to centre... Over a period of 2-3 minutes i watched the dot migrate off to the left of the screen, and then disappear altogether... 🙁

Calling on the kind nature and experience of the people on here... I have a few questions please...