26 Posts
11 Users
12 Likes
19Seventie
(@19seventie)
Estimable Member Registered
Topic starter

Hi all

I've been repairing and restoring sets for about 3 years or so now but I've always struggled with reading circuit diagrams. I understand the basics like what the symbols mean and things like that, but I tend to get stuck sometimes on what voltages to expect for example. 

I was just wondering if anyone would be willing to give any tips and tricks, and just general pointers to make reading them easier to follow and understand?

(Sorry if not allowed here, it seemed the best place to me)

Thanks
'70

Posted : 04/01/2022 12:17 am
Nuvistor
(@nuvistor)
Famed Member Registered

@19seventie 

Best to learn some basic theory, ohms law, how valves/ transistors  work etc, then go on to how each stage in the set works. I don’t mean you need to be able to design a set but  the basics of how they work will open up a new world.

Have a look on this sites data library for suitable books, other members may offer other suggestions.

Frank

Posted : 04/01/2022 8:06 am
Cathovisor
(@cathovisor)
Famed Member Registered

@19seventie With silicon transistor amplifiers, if you remember the base is always 0.6V higher than the emitter you can soon work out what to expect with a simple application of Ohm's Law.

Amos and James is probably the definitive work on the principles of transistors but a good, broad book is/was Horowitz and Hill.

I learned a lot just from simple study of circuit diagrams - start with a valve radio or three. Some of the pre-war books were very good explaining valve practice - I'll try and dig out some titles for you later.

Posted : 04/01/2022 11:48 am
Katie Bush, Alex728, Katie Bush and 3 people reacted
19Seventie
(@19seventie)
Topic starter

Hi