44 Posts
12 Users
9 Likes
Boingy
(@boingy)
Estimable Member Registered
Topic starter

Hello all,

Hopefully this topic is in the right place. I'm sure Chris will advise if it's not 🙂

I'm just getting started in the process of of making up a capacitor reformer, as I want to repair and restore vintage electronics. I already have plenty of experience as a TV service engineer, so I'm up for a challenge.

I've already got a circuit to work from and have ordered up the parts required. The restorer should be able to deal with electrolytics rated from 500V to below 10V.

Once I get the bits together, I will update with progress, photos etc.

Getting a transformer with a high voltage secondary proved to be quite difficult, but more on that later.

Parts should get to me by Tuesday, so it's twiddle my-thumbs-time right now!

Here goes!

All the best,

Tony

Standards are like toothbrushes. Everybody needs them, but nobody want to use yours!

Posted : 22/04/2018 3:06 pm
crustytv
(@crustytv)
Vrat Founder Admin

Hi Tony,

really looking forward to this project so will follow it with great interest to see what the circuit consists of and how you tackle the construction. What will you be using for indication, meter? Neon? Both or something else?

I've often thought of building one but never got around to it,  I just use my Hunts CRB-3 bridge which gives me 0-500V with a neon for leakage indication and my Fluke strapped in to monitor voltage. 

CrustyTV Television Shop: Take a virtual tour
Crusty's TV/VCR Collection: View my collection
Crustys Youtube Channel: My stuff
Crusty's 70s Lounge: Take a peek

Posted : 22/04/2018 3:20 pm
crustytv
(@crustytv)
Vrat Founder Admin

Rob Titheridge, who was a member of Vrat 1.0 ( don't think he came over to Vrat 2.0) made a very nice reformer. Whilst you're waiting for the parts for yours, you might enjoy watching him demonstrating it, some good shots and description of the circuit towards the end.

Posted : 22/04/2018 3:31 pm
Boingy
(@boingy)