66 Likes
crustytv
(@crustytv)
Vrat Founder Admin
Topic starter

Progress report
Slow steps in the right direction

p.s

By all means post the link Andy as it falls within the allowed exceptions as detailed in the latter part of rule No.6 covering e-bay, see here 

CrustyTV Television Shop: Take a virtual tour
Crusty's TV/VCR Collection: View my collection
Crustys Youtube Channel: My stuff
Crusty's 70s Lounge: Take a peek

Posted : 05/02/2019 3:53 pm
PYE625, Red_to_Black, PYE625 and 3 people reacted
crustytv
(@crustytv)
Vrat Founder Admin
Topic starter

Just put the removed video drum head from the N1700, that was giving poor playback under the microscope.

Now I'm no video expert and I've no experience of heads or their wear, however these to me look very worn with the emphasis on very. That observation might also be supported by the fact the replacement head is giving results and playback.

hd1 1
hd1 2
hd2 1
hd2 2
head

Posted : 05/02/2019 5:45 pm
Red_to_Black
(@red_to_black)
Prominent Member Banned

I am no expert on identifying head wear with a microscope either. suffice to say it is the head gap itself that determines the frequency response at micron levels, I am not sure we mere mortals would be able to optically detect this without more sophisticated measuring equipment ( some form of graticule at the very least ?) then you have the tip penetration (ooer missus 😉  ) which  might be able to be seen under magnification, sometimes this is better felt through cleaning pads/wipes that used to be available and even this was a bit subjective sometimes.

I am not sure in your picture with the annotated arrows particularly suggest wear as such, as the heads when new would have been ground with leading and trailing edges anyway to prevent any unwanted corners of the head chip from digging in to the tape and scratching/tearing it.