Featured
Latest
Philips N1500 - An ...

Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Forum 141

Help [Closed] Philips N1500 - An Adventure in Patience?

12 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
BetaPhil
(@betaphil)
Active Member Registered
Topic starter

Hello.

Newbie here, who has been pointed to this forum by a YouTube contributor to one of my uploads, suggesting this is the best place for help.

After finally having enough time since acquiring a cosmetically fine Philips N1500 over 5 years ago, a few weeks ago, it was removed from cupboard storage. With the loading mechanism repaired, new belts and pinch roller fitted, idler wheel looking in good condition, and PCB’s visually checked for obvious component problems, the result [clip from a 1976 edition of The Sky At Night] is as per the link below:

The eddy current brake for the tape transport has already been suggested as a possible cause, but, silly me decided to check diodes and resistors on panel 23 for servo playback first, have damaged at least one diode in the process, and am awaiting a replacement.

Service Manual is available, but as yet, no oscilloscope or capacitor meter (are both essential?), and am able to read circuit diagrams fairly easily, but, having read and thoroughly enjoyed in particular member crustytv’s posts and blog regarding his repair efforts with three of these machines, I would really appreciate any help with this one, in particular where to start the fault finding.

My interest in this machine is purely to archive old videotapes (currently have about two dozen with confirmed VCR format recordings, including at least three BBC studio masters of Rentaghost!) and share finds on the same YouTube channel as the above link. Have had great success with VCR-LP transfers in the past, although most of my work is with a Sanyo Betacord VTC5150.

Being honest, there is nothing or very little I can provide to others in respect of vintage electronics, and hopefully this will not be held against me.